Don’t go falling off a mountain

I am a member of a group on flickr www.flickr.com/groups/Shootaboot.  I was in Wales UK, on a Shootaboot (an outing with my camera) with three friends. The Shootaboot was on Saturday and Sunday and it was over by the end of day on Sunday. I wanted to go up Mount Snowdon and this trip was not included in our weekend itinerary.

After leaving the hotel on Monday I decided to go up Mount Snowdon by myself. I found my way to Llanberis, parked the car and after waiting around for a few hours as the only seat I could get on the train was later in the day, I eventually had the pleasure of standing on top of the mountain. It had been a slow ascent. The single carriage train runs on a track which travels around the mountain at a shallow angle until it reaches the top.

After reaching the peak of the mountain there was only half an hour to enjoy the experience so I lost no time in darting around taking photographs. My return journey on the train was only available within half an hour of arriving on the mountain top. If I missed that train I would have to walk back down. A long, long, long walk!

I leaned over the edge of the pathway to take the photo above and as I stepped back, I tripped and fell forward. My life flashed before me as I realised I would not be able to stop myself from tumbling down the mountain! Instinctively, I turned to my right and divine providence intervened. My somewhat heavy handbag, which crossed my chest, my equally heavy lens bag, also crossing my chest, and my (by no means lightweight) Nikon D300 all swung over to my right and their combined weight shifted the balance, pulling me backwards to safety.

My bag fell on the ground, my lens bag fell on my handbag, and my camera fell on the lens bag. I, rather ignomoniously fell on top of my camera, hitting my chin! Did I care? Absolutely not, I was still alive! I refused to feel embarrassed as I picked myself up and walked as nonchalantly as I could muster, back down to the train. My legs shook as I walked down the steps leading from the peak of the mountain to the viewing area beside the station, where the carriage stood waiting for passengers. I could hardly wait to be sitting safely in the carriage.

One of my friends used to nag me about my heavy bags when I am out with my camera. She does not do so now because she knows that on this occasion, they were the difference between yours truly being at the top of the mountain, and not being in an unsightly heap at the bottom.

I hope I never do that again!

© Vee W Selburn 2012: All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

