October is a beautiful month

Golden October

If you asked me which month of the year I find the most beautiful, I would have to say October. I have neglected to pick up my paintbrushes for some years but I find myself unable to resist the temptation to do so after a trip to Harcourt Arboretum in Oxfordshire in October 2012. Soon I will make a start on a painting based upon my trip to the arboretum.

Painting is a joy when there is such inspiration around. I am not easily impressed but I find myself gasping with pleasure at the beautiful gold, red and strong orange and brown colours of the trees and shrubs that carpet the autumnal landscape of Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire and Bedfordshire, England UK, in which I live. How easily we take for granted the change of seasons in the UK!

I have a neighbour who was born in Trinidad and moved to the UK many years ago. She would never return to the land of her birth and its relentless heat because, she says, she would miss the seasons which she enjoys so much in the UK. She is artistic too and I understand what she means. I cannot imagine living anywhere else, despite loving to travel elsewhere. My favourite destination is the Bernese Oberland in Switzerland, particularly in summer. The wild flowers in the meadows are a joy to behold, and the clinking of the cowbells, which appear these days to be a bit of an annoyance to the locals, is music to my ears because this is not heard in the UK. I am not a skier so winter trips hold no attraction for me.

When I first visited Switzerland I was not so focussed on photography but I know that I will see more my next trip because I will always have my camera in my hands. However, this will not be until sometime in 2013 as I have so much to do before then.

Which is your favourite month?

© Vee W Selburn 2012: All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

