Ready to retire?

Poppy field

Doing my thing with my camera

Isn’t it funny how the thought of retirement affects you? If you are more than five years away from retirement you are unlikely to understand how I am feeling the way I do at the moment. It is so strange! I can liken it to nearing the end of a very large and time consuming task, like clearing out a very messy garage to enable you to get your car into it, and believe me, I know what that feels like! It’s that feeling as you see space on the floor you suddenly realise that you are nearing your goal, and you can’t wait to get to the end of it. I have to wait of course. I still have some time to go, but not too long. The end of my working life is actually in sight!

I think of all the things I want to do that I don’t currently have time for; the paintings unfinished, the garden that needs a bit more work than I’d like to think of, the places I always meant to visit, or to return to, even more so with my camera, and that quiver of excitement that always grips me when I think that my days of freedom are on their way, works it’s way into my brain and I wish the days away! I really do not want to wish the days away. I know I can still do things at weekends, and on holidays, but it just does not seem to be the same.

Each Friday night I remind myself of the things I need to do over the weekend. Saturday is an administrative day, or a shopping day and I relax when I can on Saturday night. Sunday tends to be very busy taking care of the more mundane chores, and sometimes I meet up with friends. Having a Bank Holiday is a bonus! Another whole day to do something enjoyable, like go out with my camera finding a nice landscape or chasing birds in one of the local beauty spots.

Real holidays, i.e. more than a week, have gone by the board in recent years. I’ve been so busy with photography and trying to keep up with all the work that accummulates when you run a home. Of course I think of, and mean to get away, and I have, as you will see in my blogs, got away from time to time, but I know how much easier it will be when I retire. I really will be able to put off some things in favour of doing what I want to do, or go away when I want to go away.

Or maybe not! Do we really do as we want to when we retire? Do you?

Leave a Reply

