Me – a gardener? You must be joking!

Michelmas-Daisy

When I was a child, my parents had a modest sized front lawn but a reasonably large rear garden, almost as big as an allotment. The trouble was, each gender of the family had their jobs by which we helped out our parents, willingly or unwillingly! Gardening was not one of my jobs.

I and my sisters were girls, so we did girlie things, like baking, putting out and gathering in the household washing, and there was a lot of washing so the ironing pile was seldom reduced to nothing. I did not mind the baking – the reward was in the eating of the end product. The job I most disliked was doing the washing up. My father taught us all how to wash up, his way. Glasses first, then cups, then saucers (yes, we used saucers – mugs were definitely not acceptable to my parents at the time!). After that came the unsticky plates, then the stickies, the cutlery, and last of all, the pans. I hated washing pans; non-stick had not been invented at the time, so a lot of elbow grease was required. Now I fail to see why it was such a chore as I do it all the time at home but not always father’s way, and after having dispensed with a dishwasher some years ago. (Why did I do it?)

Brothers being boys, therefore the stronger masculine gender, their job was to haul the coal from the coal house into the kitchen where it was kept until it was needed for the open fire in our living room which also heated the water. We did not have central heating. I do not remember them doing anything else. My father took care of the garden until it became too much. My older brothers only helped out in the garden under pressure, and with a lot of moaning. I do not know what my much younger brother did in my teenage years as I was too busy with my life as he was growing up, but of course, fifty years later I know a lot more about him.

As a youngster, I failed to see why there were boys’ jobs and girls’ jobs at all. Were we not each a person before our gender? Ok, I was a girl but I was capable of hauling the coal into the house and I would have swapped my washing up chore with a brother if either had been willing. I actually liked coal; it was shiny and sometimes I found fossils in it. Unfortunately, the only concession to me and my strange rantings about why gender made a difference allowed by my parents was to allocate me a small patch of garden in which I planted Little Dorrits, Lobelia, radishes, potatoes, and carrots. A strange mix but as I had no idea about gardening, and the garden was meant to feed our large family, having flowers of any sort was an indulgence.

After leaving home I never again worked in a garden until I was married. I did not enjoy it, plus I froze when I came upon a worm when digging, whereupon my husband took over and I looked after the house, the children, and the dog. The garden became his domain, and I was happy to relinquish completely, any involvement in the work of it. I cannot imagine why I made such a fuss about worms!

Some years later, after a divorce, I went through two houses so quickly I never saw a season in either after I sold them and bought my present house. I never did any work of significance in either of my first two gardens. I paid someone else to mow the lawns, which was all there was in any of the gardens, front and back. After moving into my current home, I was always either working, looking after the children (until they left home) or busy with external interests. However, I liked a reasonably tidy garden, and again, I paid people infrequently to come and do something, with the garden, until earlier this year. In between, there were spells when the garden did its own thing.

Contrary to my natural reluctance to get stuck into my garden, I have always liked television programmes about gardening. I was often awe-struck by the makeovers and the surprise garden transformations featured in some of the programmes. Still I did not get the gardening bug. My fingers and thumbs remained very un-green!

My inspiration has been my neighbour, who is well into her 70’s possibly even older (I never asked her age), and is a wonderful gardener. One of the advantages of living next to her is that I often take pleasure in looking at her wonderful array of flowers and flowering shrubs in her gardens. She is always in her garden, toiling away and making me feel thoroughly ashamed of myself!

As my neighbour does not drive, I have taken her to the garden centres on several occasions over the last two years. From then on, my enthusiasm grew as I often bought plants of some description, some of which died before they made it into the garden, but gradually I improved, actually managing to get the plants into the ground, and to my surprise some of them even grew!

I do not remember the gardening bug biting me. Perhaps it was after I planted up my containers and finally made use of some solar lights which I had bought in a moment of madness from QVC and after seeing the results on a dark night, when the garden actually looked beautiful, that it bit me. Whenever it was, I have to admit that I am so pleased to be bitten! The trouble is, like all good things, it can become all absorbing, and too much time is spent in the garden on a fine day. I have forgotten that I do not sunbathe and my necessarily bare arms are becoming weatherworn by the sun and wind. Time that I had planned to spend on other things quicky goes by and I end up not doing some of the chores I meant to do.

…and yes, I do see a tinge of green in my thumbs. However, I will not try to wash it off anytime soon!

32 thoughts on “Me – a gardener? You must be joking!

  1. newswire.net says:

    I have read a few just right stuff here.
    Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting.

    I surprise how sso much attempt you put to make the sort of wonnderful informative web site.

  2. Hello, I want to subscribe for this webpage to obtain
    most up-to-date updates, thus where can i do it please assist.

  3. Hello, after reading this awesome post i am as well happy
    to share my know-how here with mates.

  4. Sandra says:

    Fantastic website you have here but I was wanting to
    know if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover
    the same topics discussed in this article?

    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get responses
    from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thank you!

  5. VW Selburn says:

    Hi Sandra, do a search on Google or other web browsers. I’d love to have the time to join a forum too. Good luck and thanks for your visit and nice comment.

  6. uggs says:

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  7. VW Selburn says:

    Hello uggs. Thanks for your comment. I’m flattered that you found my blog helpful. Not sure how I helped you… but if I did, I am happy about it.

  8. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard
    against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked
    hard on. Any recommendations?

  9. VW Selburn says:

    Hi eagle lake desolation wilderness – you have to be like the rest of us and trust the technology. Paranoia is a self-imposed prison.

  10. Hi, I read your new stuff regularly. Your story-telling style is awesome, keep doing what you’re
    doing!

  11. movingjames says:

    Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem to understand a
    lot about this, like you wrote the guide in it or something.

    I think that you simply can do with a few p.c.
    to pressure the message home a little bit, but other than that, this
    is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

  12. import only says:

    Fantastic post however I was wanting to know if you could write
    a litte more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little
    bit further. Thanks!

  13. VW Selburn says:

    Hello import only. Thanks for your comment. I’m sharing my thoughts on any given day. I’m not really sure what you want me to write on. Which part?

  14. PlumbingHub says:

    Hey there! I know this is somewhat off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does running a well-established website such
    as yours require a massive amount work? I’m brand new to
    writing a blog however I do write in my journal every day.

    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for brand
    new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  15. Mose says:

    Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; many of us have
    developed some nice procedures and we are looking to trade strategies with other folks, be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  16. If some one desires expert view about blogging and site-building after that i suggest him/her to go to see this weblog,
    Keep up the pleasant work.

  17. Anja says:

    I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this information for my
    mission.

  18. Pretty element of content. I just stumbled upon your web
    site and in accession capital to say that
    I get in fact enjoyed account your weblog posts. Any way I
    will be subscribing to your feeds or even I success you
    access consistently quickly.

  19. I am extremely inspired along with your
    writing talents as well as with the layout for your weblog.
    Is that this a paid topic or did you modify it your self?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to peer
    a nice blog like this one nowadays..

  20. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this site.
    I really hope to view the same high-grade content by
    you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get
    my very own blog now 😉

  21. It’s not my first time to pay a visit this web page, i am visiting this website dailly and take pleasant facts from here daily.

  22. I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet users, its really
    really good post on building up new webpage.

  23. Sewa Mobil says:

    Excellent web site you have here.. It’s difficult to find quality writing
    like yours these days. I truly appreciate people like you!

    Take care!!

  24. This is the right web site for everyone who would like to find out about
    this topic. You know so much its almost hard to
    argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa).

    You definitely put a fresh spin on a topic which has been written about for years.
    Great stuff, just wonderful!

  25. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog
    and I’m impressed! Very helpful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info much.
    I was seeking this certain info for a very long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

  26. Unquestionably believe that which you said.
    Your favorite reason seemed to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people consider worries that they
    just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also
    defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  27. test says:

    I do consider all the ideas you have introduced in your
    post. They are really convincing and can definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are too quick for newbies.
    May you please prolong them a little from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

